The administrative building of the Office of the President
of the Republic was designed by the architect Alar Kotli and built in 1937–1938 next to and over the upper pond of the Kadriorg Park (the Mirage Pond). Respecting historical integrity, the building was placed on an axis with Kadriorg Palace (at the time serving as the President’s residence). The historical garden connecting the two adjacent buildings was redesigned.
The imposing main façade of the two-storey Neo-Baroque building was emphasised by cornices over the windows and a balcony supported by columns made of local limestone. The more modest rear façade was accentuated by a rounded staircase with a dome roof. The function rooms of the President were designed by Alar Kotli himself, except for the large office, which was designed by architect Olev Siinmaa. The most important function rooms were the hall of the Council of State, the large private office, and the so-called Ambassador Hall. The hall of the Council of State has retained the original interior design with its Art Déco furniture.
Since 2003, the side wall features a tapestry depicting the national coat of arms. This tapestry, originally designed during the construction of the building, was made by textile artist Peeter Kuutma based on a 1939 black-and-white photograph of the contemporary design and descriptions of regional coats of arms.
The original exterior and interior designs of the building have been largely preserved. The building now accommodates the Office of the President of the Republic and the President’s work and function rooms. The hall of the Council of State hosts meetings with foreign delegations, negotiations, state functions and ceremonies.
The flag of the President of the Republic flying over the building announces that the President is in their home country.